About Us


Asian Americans in Public Finance strives to enhance, develop and promote the professional lives and careers of dedicated Asian Americans in public finance. AAPF will further undertake activities that will promote the betterment of local communities and efficient services. AAPF provides a platform to provide training, education, mentoring, and scholarship programs to Asian Americans within the public finance industry. AAPF encourages and promotes an open forum to raise awareness pertaining to Asian Americans within the public finance industry.


Founded at the California Bond Buyer Breakfast in 2003

  • Identified Asian Americans as a growing force in the field of public finance
  • Established a need for an organization to help our community network and advance
  • Created a directory of Asian Americans in the field

Hosted first event in 2005 and formally incorporated in 2007

  • California public benefit corporation
  • Adopted Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws
  • Appointed first Board of Directors


PresidentKevin KoneSan Francisco International Airport
Vice PresidentChristine ChoiPublic Financial Management
SecretaryKim NakaharaAllspring Global Investments
CFOJacqueline LeeCity of Oakland

Board of Directors

DirectorArthur ChanRamirez & Co.
DirectorChintan DholakiaWells Fargo Securities
DirectorVictor HsuNorton Rose Fulbright
DirectorChris MukaiCitigroup
DirectorAndy NakahataUBS
DirectorJoan PanCounty of San Diego
DirectorMimi ParkWells Fargo Bank, N.A.
DirectorErin PhamOrrick, Herringon & Sutcliffe
DirectorAlexander ShihRaymond James
DirectorHiromi SuzukiSumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
DirectorChristina TogleHawkins, Delafield & Wood
DirectorJack TsangBofA Securities
DirectorTim TungS&P Global
DirectorJohn WangOrrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
DirectorBervan YehGoldman Sachs & Co.
DirectorJoe YewHarris & Associates

Former Directors

Alexis Chiu(2007 – 2016)
Alison Fong(2007 – 2010)
Jee Hi Park(2007 – 2010)
Danny Kim(2007 – 2011)
Sandra Kim(2007 – 2016)
Lori Koh(2007 – 2011)
Karen Mitani(2007 – 2010)
Johanna Tokunaga(2007 – 2016)
Lawrence Tonomura(2007 – 2016)
Winnie Tsien(2007 – 2011)
Faye Watanabe(2007 – 2010)